More glory for WTCC champion López

More glory for WTCC champion López

02/01/2016 12:00

WTCC champion José María López has been winning again, this time topping a prestigious poll of top touring car talents.

López, who made it back-to-back FIA World Touring Car Championship crowns in 2015, was voted TouringCarTimes’ driver of the year by the website’s writers, tying for top spot with Australian V8 Supercar winner Mark Winterbottom.

The Citroën-driving Argentine equalled his record of 10 wins in one season and claimed the DHL Pole Position Award seven times on his way to WTCC title glory last season.

Justifying the 32-year-old’s top billing, TouringCarTimes wrote: “Another stellar year from the reigning champion, and even when he was put under pressure for results during the middle of the season, he never showed signs of letting it faze him. His resolve saw him replicate his 10 wins record from 2014 and the likeable Argentinian is now firmly set as a modern touring car legend after just two years racing tin tops in Europe.”

Other WTCC drivers to feature in the top 30 list included Yvan Muller (fifth), Norbert Michelisz (P11), Gabriele Tarquini (P13), Sébastien Loeb (P14), Tiago Monteiro (P17), Hugo Valente (P20) and Rob Huff (P24). Meanwhile, Thed Björk, who will form part of Polestar Cyan Racing’s WTCC attack in 2016, was P12 following his third Swedish championship triumph in 2015.

A new format will mark Macau’s eagerly anticipated return to the FIA World Touring Car Championship later this season.

Yann Ehrlacher was applauded and praised by his rivals following his maiden FIA World Touring Car Championship victory.

Mehdi Bennani reckoned he over-achieved at WTCC Race of Argentina by scoring his third podium of 2017 to remain firmly in the hunt for the FIA World Touring Car Championship.

Four-time WTCC champion Yvan Muller isn’t surprised that his nephew, Yann Ehrlacher, is a winner in the FIA World Touring Car Championship – revealing that he always expected the 21-year-old would reach the top of the podium.

The chase for WTCC Trophy title success intensified when the FIA World Touring Car Championship visited Argentina last week.

Esteban Guerrieri used his home rounds of the FIA World Touring Car Championship to deliver one of his best weekends in the WTCC so far with a third and a fourth in the two races at Circuito Termas de Río Hondo.