• 2013_news_113
    07 April 2013 19:49 RACE 2 – ORIOLA THE YOUNGEST WINNER

    Pepe Oriola who will turn 19 in three months became the youngest ever winner of a WTCC race putting in a masterpiece performance and inflicting the first defeat to the Chevrolet cars since Suzuka last year.

    The young Spaniard took the maximum out of his front row position on the reverse grid and led the race for the whole distance resisting a huge pressure from the RML duo of Yvan Muller and
    Tom Chilton. Oriola did not crack under pressure even when the race resumed after a safety car period for a last frantic lap, and did not offer Muller the lesser opportunity to try an overtaking manouevre.
    James Nash finished fourth and winner of the Yokohama Trophy, while Gabriele Tarquini and Rob Huff threw away possible good results in two different incidents. 

    Key moments
    Start – Monje takes the lead, but Oriola overtakes him at the first braking
    Lap 1 – Huff dives inside Monje at Turn 4, they make contact and Huff retires
    Lap 2 – Basseng overtakes Nash for fourth
    Lap 2 – Monje crashes into the back of Thompson’s LADA at Turn 10; they both retire
    Lap 3 – Muller and Chilton fight for second
    Lap 4 – Oriola is closely chased by Muller and Chilton
    Lap 5 – Nykjær overtakes O’Young for ninth
    Lap 6 – Chilton and Muller are side-to-side at Turn 9
    Lap 7 – Nash overtakes Basseng for fourth
    Lap 8 – Tarquini crashes at Turn 10 and collects MacDowall; they both retire
    Lap 9 – the safety car is deployed
    Lap 12 – the race resumes
    Lap 13 – Oriola manages to keep the lead and wins from Muller and Chilton
    Lap 13 – Engstler overtakes O’Young for eighth; Ng overtakes Bennani for tenth