Baldi, Wisniewski share China eSports WTCC wins

Baldi, Wisniewski share China eSports WTCC wins

10/10/2017 18:00

Gergo Baldi and Nikodem Wisniewski shared the eSports WTCC wins in Shanghai on Sunday evening as Márk Nándori snatched the championship initiative from the absent Alexander Dornieden.

Qualifying: Baldi builds on pre-event pace with pole
Gergo Baldi converted his strong pre-event pace into another pole position. The two championship favourites, Jan Stange and Márk Nándori, qualified in the top 10 with the aim of capitalising on title leader Alexander Dornieden’s absence to score as many points as possible.

Division 1, race one: Hungarian outguns his rivals
Baldi made the best start to lead ahead of his Wauters Automotive team-mate Kevin Siggy Rebernak. But while Stange dropped back, Nándori’s uncharacteristically aggressive approach was allowing him to make up positions. As Baldi extended his lead, Rebernak became embroiled in a heated battle for second with Frenchman Kévin Leaune. This allowed other drivers, such as Nándori and Bence Bánki, to close up. Rebernak pulled off the move of the year on Leaune at Turn 1, but then lost out to Nándori’s controversial move at the hairpin and dropped back, leaving Bánki to finish third behind Leaune and winner Baldi. Nándori finished fourth with Stange eighth.

Division 1, race two: Wisniewski leaves it late to win
Norbert Leitner was making his reverse-grid pole count, leading for almost the entire race only for FEEDER Ragnar Simulator driver Nikodem Wisniewski to pass around the outside of the final turn for his first victory of the year. Leitner took second with Márk Nándori the other big winner by claiming a podium finish and the championship lead. Guillaume Theot showed well but lost out on a top-three placing after slipping behind Wisniewski and then Nándori. Jan Stange’s hopes of early progress in the second race were comprised by light contact with Nikodem Wisniewski, which demoted the title contender a few places. He then began a heated battle with Kévin Leaune. Technical issues prevented a repeat win for Baldi, who retired early on.

Division 2: Razeyre tops close fight
Tommy Razeyre won a four-way battle for Division 2 victory, the Frenchman’s second triumph of the season. Adam Stivin, Mesca Vlad and Manuel Alves were all involved in the scrap that Frenchman Razeyre edged.

Click here to re-live all the eSports WTCC action from Shanghai.

The all-new WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup will benefit from a major agreement with FOX Sports Latin America in 2018 comprising extensive live race coverage, highlights programmes and driver interviews.

Tom Coronel wants to go from hunter to hunted when the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup fires into life in Morocco from 7-8 April.

Comtoyou Racing has revealed a graphic of the livery that will flank Aurélien Panis’s Audi RS3 LMS in the inaugural WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup.

Tickets are on sale for the opening weekend of the 2018 WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup season in Marrakech.

Norbert Michelisz reckons the challenge he faces driving a new car for a new team in a new series represents a “great motivation”.

With less than 50 days to go until the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup gets underway in Morocco from 7-8 April, here’s a reminder of the drivers announced so far.