Bennani: Loeb brings power to the WTCC

Bennani: Loeb brings power to the WTCC

17/03/2017 12:00

FIA World Touring Car Championship race winner and team owner Sébastien Loeb is making a big difference to Mehdi Bennani’s efforts to challenge for world title glory in 2017.

Bennani has raced for the team co-owned by the nine-time World Rally champion since 2015, claiming two outright wins and the WTCC Trophy crown last season.

Loeb was present during WTCC testing at Monza on Tuesday and Bennani said he gained plenty from his visit.

“He always gives advice, he’s always coaching the people around, the team, the drivers,” said Bennani. “It’s very strong to have the power of Sébastien Loeb with us. He’s the reference so it’s nice to have him on our side.”

Bennani set some impressive lap times during Monza testing but admitted to pushing too far on Wednesday morning.

“We were trying a lot things and a lot of new things on the car,” explained. “You always try to be on the limit and sometimes over the limit to know where the limit is. At Monza we touched a little bit the gravel at Lesmo 1 and my car was in the gravel.”

The 2017 World Touring Car Championship season opens with Bennani’s home event, FIA WTCC AFRIQUIA Race of Morocco in Marrakech from 7-9 April.

Norbert Michelisz has received yet more silverware. Twenty-four hours after picking up his trophy for finishing runner-up in the FIA World Touring Car Championship at the FIA Prize Giving event in Paris, the Hungarian was honoured a little closer to home.

The top three drivers in the 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship were honoured in Paris on Friday evening when the stunning Château de Versailles hosted the annual FIA Prize Giving ceremony.

FIA World Touring Car Championship promoter Eurosport Events has broken with tradition by awarding the prestigious WTCC Nürburgring Nordschleife Best Driver Trophy to not one but two drivers after Polestar Cyan Racing’s factory duo, Thed Björk and Nicky Catsburg, tamed planet earth’s toughest race track in spectacular fashion back in May.

Jean Todt has been re-elected as President of the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) at the organisation’s General Assembly in Paris today.

Thed Björk will be crowned FIA World Touring Car champion for 2017 at the FIA Prize Giving in Paris this evening. Here are some facts about Polestar Cyan Racing’s swift Swede.

The FIA World Touring Car Championship will be replaced from 2018 with new technical regulations, a new format and a new name following a vote of approval by the FIA World Motor Sport Council in Paris yesterday (6 December).