Catsburg aiming to close WTCC points gap

Catsburg aiming to close WTCC points gap

11/10/2017 12:00

Nicky Catsburg has vowed to do all he can to cut the points deficit he’s facing in the FIA World Touring Car Championship.

The Polestar Cyan Racing driver lost ground in the title battle following a double non-score at WTCC Race of Argentina.

With eight races remaining, the Dutchman is 41 points adrift of top spot in fifth position overall.

“We have prepared as much as possible ahead of the season-end sprint and I feel confident,” said the Volvo S60 Polestar driver. “I lost some ground to the leaders due to unfortunate punctures in the previous race weekend. But it is too early and too close to call so we are racing with the ambition for victories and to claim as many points as possible.”

Norbert Michelisz has received yet more silverware. Twenty-four hours after picking up his trophy for finishing runner-up in the FIA World Touring Car Championship at the FIA Prize Giving event in Paris, the Hungarian was honoured a little closer to home.

The top three drivers in the 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship were honoured in Paris on Friday evening when the stunning Château de Versailles hosted the annual FIA Prize Giving ceremony.

FIA World Touring Car Championship promoter Eurosport Events has broken with tradition by awarding the prestigious WTCC Nürburgring Nordschleife Best Driver Trophy to not one but two drivers after Polestar Cyan Racing’s factory duo, Thed Björk and Nicky Catsburg, tamed planet earth’s toughest race track in spectacular fashion back in May.

Jean Todt has been re-elected as President of the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) at the organisation’s General Assembly in Paris today.

Thed Björk will be crowned FIA World Touring Car champion for 2017 at the FIA Prize Giving in Paris this evening. Here are some facts about Polestar Cyan Racing’s swift Swede.

The FIA World Touring Car Championship will be replaced from 2018 with new technical regulations, a new format and a new name following a vote of approval by the FIA World Motor Sport Council in Paris yesterday (6 December).