Ehrlacher keen on experiencing that winning WTCC feeling again

Ehrlacher keen on experiencing that winning WTCC feeling again

11/10/2017 18:00

Yann Ehrlacher started the FIA World Touring Car Championship’s summer break a winner following his maiden triumph in Argentina in July. And he’ll join his rivals on track at the Ningbo International Speedpark this week intent on landing more glory.

Ehrlacher’s breakthrough triumph for RC Motorsport in the Opening Race in South America came after Tom Chilton was penalised for contact with his rival, but was nevertheless the result of an accomplished drive that belied the Frenchman’s 21 years after he’d led away from pole position.

“The feeling of winning a World Touring Car race is so awesome and I want more of this,” said Ehrlacher, the nephew of four-time WTCC champion Yvan Muller. “It’s gonna be hard for sure but the goal now is to make it again in China.”

Even though Ehrlacher feels somewhat underprepared for his debut at the all-new Ningbo circuit, he has already formulated a strategy for success.

“I try to find some onboard [footage] on YouTube but the only thing I found and which I’m working on is a virtual track map,” Ehrlacher explained. “It looks like there is fast- and medium-speed corners, which is good for us. Like always this year I have to learn the track in Free Practice and, as always, we work in Free Practice for being ready for the qualifying but it’s important to work also on our race pace like we did in Argentina.”

In addition to US racer Kevin Gleason, Ehrlacher will be joined at RC Motorsport in China – and the upcoming race in Japan – by Felipe De Souza from Macau, who is making his WTCC comeback after several seasons away.

Norbert Michelisz has received yet more silverware. Twenty-four hours after picking up his trophy for finishing runner-up in the FIA World Touring Car Championship at the FIA Prize Giving event in Paris, the Hungarian was honoured a little closer to home.

The top three drivers in the 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship were honoured in Paris on Friday evening when the stunning Château de Versailles hosted the annual FIA Prize Giving ceremony.

FIA World Touring Car Championship promoter Eurosport Events has broken with tradition by awarding the prestigious WTCC Nürburgring Nordschleife Best Driver Trophy to not one but two drivers after Polestar Cyan Racing’s factory duo, Thed Björk and Nicky Catsburg, tamed planet earth’s toughest race track in spectacular fashion back in May.

Jean Todt has been re-elected as President of the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) at the organisation’s General Assembly in Paris today.

Thed Björk will be crowned FIA World Touring Car champion for 2017 at the FIA Prize Giving in Paris this evening. Here are some facts about Polestar Cyan Racing’s swift Swede.

The FIA World Touring Car Championship will be replaced from 2018 with new technical regulations, a new format and a new name following a vote of approval by the FIA World Motor Sport Council in Paris yesterday (6 December).