WTCC Race of China

WTCC Race of China
logo WTCC Race of China

WTCC Race of China - 13-15/10/2017


Ningbo International Speedpark is a new destination for the FIA World Touring Car Championship in 2017 and replaces the Shanghai International Circuit as the new home of WTCC Race of China. It’s located in Chunxiao in the rapidly-expanding Beilun coastal development area near to the city of Ningbo – a major port and industrial hub with a population of more than seven million people – in Zhejiang province. Construction work began on 28 December 2015 and was completed at the end of September 2017 at a cost of 950-million CNY (122 million euros). Around 500 people were involved in turning what was a disused quarry into a state-of-the-art venue, which is built to FIA and FIM Grade 2 standards with the trackside kerbing designed to accommodate two- and four-wheel competition. The 4.015-kilometre track runs in an anti-clockwise direction, is between 12-18 metres in width and sits within a 10-kilometre auxiliary road. With 22 turns it drops 24 metres at one point, while its design allows for two layouts – the East Circuit and West Circuit – to be used simultaneously. As well as hosting WTCC Race of China, Ningbo’s inaugural event also features the China Touring Car Championship and the FIA F4 Chinese Championship.


Thed Björk claimed a dramatic maiden FIA World Touring Car Championship victory, taking the lead two corners from the finish in his Volvo S60 Polestar TC1. What was also a first WTCC win for Chinese-owned Volvo was part of a weekend of celebration, which began with Citroën landing the WTCC Manufacturers’ crown for a third year in succession on Saturday and ended with Mehdi Bennani winning the WTCC Trophy title. Norbert Michelisz took second for Honda in the Opening Race with Yvan Muller and José María López third and fourth for Citroën. López won the Main Race from the DHL pole position with Muller second to move 31 points ahead of Tiago Monteiro in the battle to finish runner-up to provisional overall champion López. Behind third-placed Bennani, Nicky Catsburg finished fourth for LADA having qualified an impressive second.

Opening Race DHL Pole Position: John Filippi (Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1)
Main Race DHL Pole Position: José María López (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC)
TAG Heuer Best Lap Trophy: José María López (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC) 1m52.224s
WTCC MAC3 winner: Team Honda

Official Website


Name: Ningbo International Speedpark
Location: Yanhai Middle Road, Chuanxiao, Ningbo, Zhejiang, China
Length: 4.015 kilometres
Opening Race distance: 14 laps
Main Race distance: 15 laps
Lap record (qualifying): To be established
Lap record (race): To be established
WTCC appearances: 0 (previously took place at Tianma Circuit and Shanghai International Circuit)
Time zone: GMT +8 hours
Sunrise/sunset: 05h00/17h22
Average temperature: 17°C-24°C (October)
Nearest airport: Ningbo Lishe International Airport (64 kilometres)


2016: Opening Race: Thed Björk (Volvo S60 Polestar); Main Race: José María López (Citroën)
2015: Race 1: José María López (Citroën C-Elysée); Race 2: Yvan Muller (Citroën C-Elysée)
2014*: R1: José María López (Citroën C-Elysée); R2: Mehdi Bennani (Honda Civic)
2013: R1 Tom Chilton (Chevrolet Cruze); R2: Tiago Monteiro (Honda Civic)
2012: R1: Alain Menu (Chevrolet Cruze); R2: Rob Huff (Chevrolet Cruze)
2011: R1: Alain Menu (Chevrolet Cruze); R2: Yvan Muller (Chevrolet Cruze)
*Tom Chilton (Chevrolet) and Rob Huff (LADA) won the two races at Goldenport Park


2017: Ningbo International Speedpark
2012-2016: Shanghai International Circuit
2011: Tianma Circuit