logo WTCC JVCKENWOOD Race of Japan

WTCC JVCKENWOOD Race of Japan - 27-29/10/2017


Twin Ring Motegi, in the Tochigi Prefecture 145 kilometres north of the capital Tokyo, is home of WTCC Race of Japan for the third year running following four successful seasons at Suzuka and three at Okayama. Motegi also hosts the country’s MotoGP round in October and the track layout, with its long straights and braking zones, always delivers great WTCC action, while two crossover points produce spectacular photography. Oval and traditional road course aside, Twin Ring Motegi houses a hotel, kart track, safer driving centre plus the impressive Honda Collection Hall with its vast displays of two- and four-wheel machinery.


Norbert Michelisz headed a Honda 1-2-3 on home soil as José María López became provisional FIA World Touring Car champion for 2016 following two action-packed races. After finishing a battling fourth in the Opening Race, the Argentine was leading the Main Race comfortably from the DHL pole position when he slowed to let Citroën team-mate Yvan Muller take what was the four-time world champion’s first victory of 2016. However, second place was enough to put López’s third WTCC title beyond doubt. Elsewhere, Sébastien Loeb Racing drivers Tom Chilton and Mehdi Bennani shared the WTCC Trophy honours, while Citroën closed in on a third makes’ crown. Rob Huff and Tiago Monteiro completed the Opening Race podium for Honda, with Monteiro third behind Muller and López in the Main Race. Néstor Girolami marked his return to WTCC action with fifth for Polestar Cyan Racing in the Main Race, as Nicky Catsburg and Gabriele Tarquini scored for LADA. López claimed the TAG Heuer Best Lap Trophy.

Opening Race DHL Pole Position: Norbert Michelisz (Honda Civic WTCC)
Main Race DHL Pole Position: José María López (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC)
TAG Heuer Best Lap Trophy: José María López (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC) 1m58.061s
WTCC MAC3 winner: Team Citroën

Official Website


Name: Twin Ring Motegi
Location: 120-1 Hiyama, Motegi-machi, Haga-gun, Tochigi Pref. 321-3597, Japan
Length: 4.801 kilometres
Opening Race distance: 11 laps (52.811km)
Main Race distance: 13 laps (62.413km)
Lap record (qualifying): Norbert Michelisz (Honda Civic) 1m55.596s (149.5kph), 12/09/15
Lap record (race): Gabriele Tarquini (Honda Civic WTCC) 1m57.136s (147.6kph), 13/09/15
WTCC appearances: 2 (WTCC Race of Japan also took place at Suzuka and Okayama)
Time zone: GMT +2 hours
Nearest airport: Narita International Airport (130 kilometres)


2016: Opening Race: Norbert Michelisz (Honda Civic); Main Race: Yvan Muller (Citroën)
2015: Race 1: José María López (Citroën C-Elysée); Race 2: Tiago Monteiro (Honda Civic)
2014: R1: José María López (Citroën C-Elysée); R2: Gabriele Tarquini (Honda Civic)
2013: R1: Norbert Michelisz (Honda Civic); R2: Tom Coronel (BMW 320)
2012: R1: Alain Menu (Chevrolet Cruze); R2: Stefano D’Aste (BMW 320)
2011: R1: Alain Menu (Chevrolet Cruze); R2: Tom Coronel (BMW 320)
2010: R1: Rob Huff (Chevrolet Cruze); R2: Colin Turkington (BMW 320)
2009: R1: Andy Priaulx (BMW 320); R2: Augusto Farfus (BMW 320)
2008: R1: Rickard Rydell (SEAT León); R2: Tom Coronel (SEAT León)


2015-Present: Twin Ring Motegi
2011-2014: Suzuka
2008-2010: Okayama