Filippi reveals his Formula (One) for Monza WTCC success

Filippi reveals his Formula (One) for Monza WTCC success

17/04/2017 06:00

John Filippi won’t be fazed about racing at Monza for the first time when the FIA World Touring Car Championship returns to the legendary parkland venue from 28-30 April.

Monza was absent from the WTCC schedule when Filippi joined the series in 2014 but it’s back on the calendar for this season with backing – and a free ticket incentive for fans – from the Corsican’s main sponsor, OSCARO.

While Filippi has never raced at Monza, he tested there last month and spent his youth watching several Italian Grands Prix on TV as well as attending a race in person.

“I know the track from the TV and the PlayStation but the [Official] test meant I could discover it for real,” said Filippi. “The first time I saw a grand prix was at Monza and I know all the names of all the corners from watching on TV and playing on PlayStation but it’s totally different when you drive there for real. You think the track is just some long straights with a few corners but it’s actually very technical and you have to be precise with your driving, braking, throttle, everything. You need to take care to have a good set-up because the tyre degradation could be a problem but we worked a lot during the two days of testing.”

Filippi is part of the three-strong Sébastien Loeb Racing in the WTCC and drives a Citroën C-Eylsée. To download a free ticket go to

Comtoyou Racing has revealed a graphic of the livery that will flank Aurélien Panis’s Audi RS3 LMS in the inaugural WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup.

Tickets are on sale for the opening weekend of the 2018 WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup season in Marrakech.

Norbert Michelisz reckons the challenge he faces driving a new car for a new team in a new series represents a “great motivation”.

With less than 50 days to go until the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup gets underway in Morocco from 7-8 April, here’s a reminder of the drivers announced so far.

Six Audi RS3 LMS cars will line-up for the inaugural WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup following the announcement of four new drivers including two notable champions.

Esteban Guerrieri says joining ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport for the inaugural WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup has left him “optimistic” that he can fight for title gold.