Guerrieri: Incredible WTCC year nearly didn’t happen

Guerrieri: Incredible WTCC year nearly didn’t happen

06/12/2017 06:00

Esteban Guerrieri’s hugely successful maiden FIA World Touring Car Championship season came close to not happening.

The Argentine, who bagged a third outright win in Qatar at the start of the month, revealed his agreement to drive a Campos Racing Chevrolet in the 2017 WTCC was only concluded in the weeks leading up to the season-opening WTCC AFRIQUIA Race of Morocco where he won the Opening Race.

“I am really thankful for all this year and everybody who created this opportunity for me,” said Guerrieri. “It was really like a rollercoaster year for me, it was incredible. In March I didn’t even know I would be at the first race but I managed to get some wins and the Honda drive happened, unfortunately because of Tiago’s [Monteiro] accident.”

Guerrieri bagged a second win with the privateer Campos team in China before being called up as Monteiro’s stand-in at the factory Honda team for final three events of the season.

The all-new WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup will benefit from a major agreement with FOX Sports Latin America in 2018 comprising extensive live race coverage, highlights programmes and driver interviews.

Tom Coronel wants to go from hunter to hunted when the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup fires into life in Morocco from 7-8 April.

Comtoyou Racing has revealed a graphic of the livery that will flank Aurélien Panis’s Audi RS3 LMS in the inaugural WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup.

Tickets are on sale for the opening weekend of the 2018 WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup season in Marrakech.

Norbert Michelisz reckons the challenge he faces driving a new car for a new team in a new series represents a “great motivation”.

With less than 50 days to go until the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup gets underway in Morocco from 7-8 April, here’s a reminder of the drivers announced so far.