He flies then flies: Guerrieri keeps busy ahead of WTCC Race of China

He flies then flies: Guerrieri keeps busy ahead of WTCC Race of China

11/10/2017 06:00

FIA World Touring Car Championship event winner Esteban Guerrieri has come up with the perfect way to prepare for a 30-hour flight: embark on back-to-back race weekends in two different countries.

At the start of the month, the 32-year-old Argentine took part in the famous Buenos Aires 200 Kilometres in his home city. After qualifying fifth and going second quickest in warm-up, technical issues ruled out a strong finish for Guerrieri and guest driver Marcelo Ciarrocchi, who was sharing his Citroën C4 Lounge.

Last weekend, Guerrieri was in Brazil for the country’s Porsche GT3 Cup round at Goiânia where he finished the 300-kilometre enduro in P13 and third in the Challenge class alongside regular entrant Eloi Khouri.

He then set off for China, where the all-new Ningbo International Speedpark hosts the action from 13-15 October, taking 30 hours to reach Shanghai via stops in Miami and Dallas.


“I guess I will have to catch some sleep in between my many flights to China,” said Guerrieri, who won WTCC Race of Morocco in early May, his third start in the world championship, for Campos Racing.

With thanks to Juan Cruz Mathus

Norbert Michelisz has received yet more silverware. Twenty-four hours after picking up his trophy for finishing runner-up in the FIA World Touring Car Championship at the FIA Prize Giving event in Paris, the Hungarian was honoured a little closer to home.

The top three drivers in the 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship were honoured in Paris on Friday evening when the stunning Château de Versailles hosted the annual FIA Prize Giving ceremony.

FIA World Touring Car Championship promoter Eurosport Events has broken with tradition by awarding the prestigious WTCC Nürburgring Nordschleife Best Driver Trophy to not one but two drivers after Polestar Cyan Racing’s factory duo, Thed Björk and Nicky Catsburg, tamed planet earth’s toughest race track in spectacular fashion back in May.

Jean Todt has been re-elected as President of the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) at the organisation’s General Assembly in Paris today.

Thed Björk will be crowned FIA World Touring Car champion for 2017 at the FIA Prize Giving in Paris this evening. Here are some facts about Polestar Cyan Racing’s swift Swede.

The FIA World Touring Car Championship will be replaced from 2018 with new technical regulations, a new format and a new name following a vote of approval by the FIA World Motor Sport Council in Paris yesterday (6 December).