Nagy in ETCC title fight for WTCC team Zengő

Nagy in ETCC title fight for WTCC team Zengő

17/09/2017 18:00

Norbert Nagy will join three rivals in a final-round face-off for the FIA European Touring Car Cup crown following a dramatic pair of races at Zolder in Belgium.

The Hungarian, who drives for FIA World Touring Car Championship team Zengő Motorsport’s second tier, was unable to convert pole position into a race win, but by coming home third and fourth in the two events, Nagy will head to Most in Czech Republic next month third in the table on 56 points, seven points behind leader and category stalwart Petr Fulín.

ETCC Race of Most takes place from 6-8 October. Christjohannes Schreiber and Igor Stefanovski claimed a win apiece at Zolder.

Norbert Michelisz has received yet more silverware. Twenty-four hours after picking up his trophy for finishing runner-up in the FIA World Touring Car Championship at the FIA Prize Giving event in Paris, the Hungarian was honoured a little closer to home.

The top three drivers in the 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship were honoured in Paris on Friday evening when the stunning Château de Versailles hosted the annual FIA Prize Giving ceremony.

FIA World Touring Car Championship promoter Eurosport Events has broken with tradition by awarding the prestigious WTCC Nürburgring Nordschleife Best Driver Trophy to not one but two drivers after Polestar Cyan Racing’s factory duo, Thed Björk and Nicky Catsburg, tamed planet earth’s toughest race track in spectacular fashion back in May.

Jean Todt has been re-elected as President of the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) at the organisation’s General Assembly in Paris today.

Thed Björk will be crowned FIA World Touring Car champion for 2017 at the FIA Prize Giving in Paris this evening. Here are some facts about Polestar Cyan Racing’s swift Swede.

The FIA World Touring Car Championship will be replaced from 2018 with new technical regulations, a new format and a new name following a vote of approval by the FIA World Motor Sport Council in Paris yesterday (6 December).