Street track fan Girolami targets more WTCC luck in Vila Real

Street track fan Girolami targets more WTCC luck in Vila Real

19/06/2017 06:00

Néstor Girolami will be hungry for a change of fortune when the FIA World Touring Car Championship heads to Vila Real later this week.

One of the pre-season title favourites, the Argentine has non-scored in the last three races and languishes ninth in the standings ahead of WTCC Race of Portugal.

But the Polestar Cyan Racing driver has plenty of reason for optimism. He has previous Vila Real experience to call upon having scored what was then a WTCC career-high eighth on his debut at the track in 2015 and took a podium on the streets of Marrakech earlier this season. He’s also a fan of urban tracks from his exploits racing back home in Argentina.

“I raced on a lot of street circuits in Argentina and I enjoy them a lot,” he said. “You have to go to the limit – although a little bit less to avoid stupid mistakes in Free Practice – so you can push very hard in qualifying because being fastest in qualifying is 90 per cent of the weekend.”

Norbert Michelisz has received yet more silverware. Twenty-four hours after picking up his trophy for finishing runner-up in the FIA World Touring Car Championship at the FIA Prize Giving event in Paris, the Hungarian was honoured a little closer to home.

The top three drivers in the 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship were honoured in Paris on Friday evening when the stunning Château de Versailles hosted the annual FIA Prize Giving ceremony.

FIA World Touring Car Championship promoter Eurosport Events has broken with tradition by awarding the prestigious WTCC Nürburgring Nordschleife Best Driver Trophy to not one but two drivers after Polestar Cyan Racing’s factory duo, Thed Björk and Nicky Catsburg, tamed planet earth’s toughest race track in spectacular fashion back in May.

Jean Todt has been re-elected as President of the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) at the organisation’s General Assembly in Paris today.

Thed Björk will be crowned FIA World Touring Car champion for 2017 at the FIA Prize Giving in Paris this evening. Here are some facts about Polestar Cyan Racing’s swift Swede.

The FIA World Touring Car Championship will be replaced from 2018 with new technical regulations, a new format and a new name following a vote of approval by the FIA World Motor Sport Council in Paris yesterday (6 December).