Why teamwork is key for Honda in the WTCC

Why teamwork is key for Honda in the WTCC

08/08/2017 12:00

It takes Honda 40 people speaking nine languages and running three Civic WTCC racers to be successful in the FIA World Touring Car Championship, as the latest video at reveals.

The Teamwork Challenge, goes behind the scenes with the Castrol Honda World Touring Car Team and hears from factory drivers Norbert Michelisz, Ryo Michigami and Tiago Monteiro, Technical Director Duncan Laycock, Team Manager Dario d’Esposito, Physiologist Emiliano Ventura and Team Principal Alessandro Mariani. It’s available from the Road Racing Drivers Club by clicking here.

Meanwhile, Monteiro, the current WTCC title leader, has become the latest ‘Ask a Pro’. Amateur racers looking for advice and tips can put their questions to today’s top stars, including the Portuguese ace, by clicking here.

After 12 races, Honda heads the FIA World Touring Car Championship for Manufacturers ahead of Volvo Polestar. The series fires back into life at WTCC Race of China in Ningbo from 13-15 October.

Tiago Monteiro says there can be no slip-ups in the battle to win the 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship.

WTCC 2017: the key statistics

20/08/2017 12:00 - 2017

The 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship is building up for an epic title showdown with four events remaining and eight drivers in contention for the coveted crown. Here’s a reminder of the key statistics.

Back in 2014 mainland China hosted not one but two rounds of the FIA World Touring Car Championship after Goldenport Park in Beijing was added to the schedule in place of the planned round at Sonoma in the USA.

WTCC 2017: coming up soon

18/08/2017 12:00 - 2017

The wide-open 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship concludes in Qatar on 1 December. Here’s what’s coming up over the next few months.

Yann Ehrlacher scored a breakthrough maiden FIA World Touring Car Championship victory at WTCC Race of Argentina in mid-July, converting a career-first standing start pole position into victory number one for him and the privateer RC Motorsport team.

Mehdi Bennani and Norbert Michelisz triumphed at WTCC Race of Portugal on 25 June as world championship motor racing history was made with the introduction of the ‘joker’ lap.