In numbers: WTCC Race of Morocco

In numbers: WTCC Race of Morocco

16/04/2017 12:00

WTCC AFRIQUIA Race of Morocco opened the 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship last week amid plenty of on-track action and drama on the streets of Marrakech. Here are some of the highlights in numbers.

10: Tiago Monteiro’s victory in the Main Race was WTCC win number 10 for the Portuguese

96: Honda and Volvo Polestar left Marrakech with 96 points apiece in the battle for the World Touring Car Championship for Manufacturers

30: Argentina has now celebrated 30 WTCC wins with Esteban Guerrieri’s debut triumph adding to the 29 notched up by three-time champion José María López

10: Aurélien Panis marked his debut by claiming his first world championship point with P10 in the Opening Race

1: Ryo Michigami was also in the points for the first time in Morocco, finishing P10 in his third WTCC start

2: Dániel Nagy and Esteban Guerrieri claimed their first WTCC fastest laps in Marrakech. Nagy set the pace in the Opening Race with Guerrieri quickest of all in the Main Race to land the TAG Heuer Best Lap Trophy

2: A two-second Main Race penalty demoted Mehdi Bennani from first to second in the WTCC Trophy

16: Defending champion Bennani and Sébastien Loeb Racing team-mate Tom Chilton are level on 16 points following the North African double-header

5: Rob Huff’s P9 in the Main Race means he’s now scored WTCC points in five different makes of car

12: Yann Ehrlacher’s capture of P12 in the Main Race was his first WTCC finish and the first for the new RC Motorsport team

There’s a close fight for WTCC Trophy glory brewing as several independent racers battle for top honours at WTCC Race of Portugal this weekend.

Nicky Catsburg will start WTCC Race of Portugal leading the FIA World Touring Car Championship having gone from hunter to hunted after snatching the title lead from home hero Tiago Monteiro at the Nürburgring Nordschleife last month.

Jan Stange cut Alexander Dornieden’s title lead to two points following an action-packed eSports WTCC multiplayer championship counter on Sunday.

With climbs and dips, sweeping turns, blind corners and fast straights, the Circuito Internacional de Vila Real provides a big challenge for the FIA World Touring Car Championship drivers. Home hero Tiago Monteiro is your guide to the 4.785-kilometre lap.

Néstor Girolami will be hungry for a change of fortune when the FIA World Touring Car Championship heads to Vila Real later this week.

Tiago Monteiro got his faltering season firmly back on track with an emotional home win in the FIA World Touring Car Championship on 26 June 2016.