WTCC Race of Morocco key timings announced

WTCC Race of Morocco key timings announced

18/03/2017 12:00

The key timings for FIA WTCC AFRIQUIA Race of Morocco have been revealed as the opening weekend of the 2017 World Touring Car Championship season draws near.

Taking place on the semi-permanent Circuit Moulay El Hassan in Marrakech, the event runs from 7-9 April. The following timings are local:

Saturday 8 April
09h00-09h45: Free Practice 1
11h45-12h30: Free Practice 2
From 15h15: Qualifying
16h30: WTCC MAC3

Sunday 9 April
16h35-17h00: Opening Race (18 laps)
17h45-18h15: Main Race (21 laps)

Click here to view the full timetable.

Norbert Michelisz has received yet more silverware. Twenty-four hours after picking up his trophy for finishing runner-up in the FIA World Touring Car Championship at the FIA Prize Giving event in Paris, the Hungarian was honoured a little closer to home.

The top three drivers in the 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship were honoured in Paris on Friday evening when the stunning Château de Versailles hosted the annual FIA Prize Giving ceremony.

FIA World Touring Car Championship promoter Eurosport Events has broken with tradition by awarding the prestigious WTCC Nürburgring Nordschleife Best Driver Trophy to not one but two drivers after Polestar Cyan Racing’s factory duo, Thed Björk and Nicky Catsburg, tamed planet earth’s toughest race track in spectacular fashion back in May.

Jean Todt has been re-elected as President of the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) at the organisation’s General Assembly in Paris today.

Thed Björk will be crowned FIA World Touring Car champion for 2017 at the FIA Prize Giving in Paris this evening. Here are some facts about Polestar Cyan Racing’s swift Swede.

The FIA World Touring Car Championship will be replaced from 2018 with new technical regulations, a new format and a new name following a vote of approval by the FIA World Motor Sport Council in Paris yesterday (6 December).