WTCC rookie to prove he’s the man for the job

WTCC rookie to prove he’s the man for the job

20/03/2017 12:00

Twenty-year-old WTCC rookie Yann Ehrlacher admits he needs to prove RC Motorsport has made the right call to sign him for his maiden FIA World Touring Car Championship campaign in 2017.

Ehrlacher, the nephew of four-time WTCC champion Yvan Muller and son of ex- single-seater racer Cathy, will make his competitive debut for the Magny-Cours team at WTCC AFRIQUIA Race of Morocco in Marrakech next month, having excelled in official WTCC testing at Monza last week with the third best time in one session.

“It was quite a hard decision from the team to take me because I have no experience of front-wheel drive and I don’t know any of the tracks,” said Ehrlacher, who completed 100 laps of the Italian Grand Prix track. “They have taken the risk and I have to prove to them that I can do it.”

Frenchman Ehrlacher insists he’s not taking anything for granted despite his promising testing performance. “There is still a lot of work to do because I’m not sure that the other cars were at 100 per cent [performance at Monza], so there is a lot to do now to be ready for Marrakech and we will do some other testing in Magny-Cours.”

WTCC AFRIQUIA Race of Morocco takes place from 7-9 April.

The key timings for FIA WTCC OSCARO Race of Italy have been revealed as Monza’s highly-anticipated return to the World Touring Car Championship calendar gets closer.

The WTCC’s F1 connections

26/03/2017 12:00 - 2017

The new FIA Formula One World Championship season began in Australia earlier today. Here are 10 things that link F1 to the FIA World Touring Car Championship.

More Argentine success in the FIA World Touring Car Championship is expected this year – even though three-time title winner José María López won’t be on the grid.

Fans attending the FIA World Touring Car Championship’s eagerly-anticipated return to Monza next month are in for a double treat.

Leading FIA World Touring Car Championship drivers are refusing to get too confident about winning the WTCC title due to the extremely open nature of the competition they expect to face.

Roberto Ravaglia turned back the clock at Monza last week when he took to the famous Italian track in a World Touring Car.